Winter lazies?

sfd

I always find it comical how while most horses get extra crazy during the winter once the cooler weather rolls around Poncho does the opposite. He gets so unbelievably lazy it’s not even funny. He just DOES NOT WANT TO MOVE, at all! So he’s getting a reminder that cold weather still means we can work. And while we seemed to have hit a bit of a snag with our cantering I decided to switch him back to his hackamore. I think we’ll stay in that for atleast another month before going back to the loose ring. His canter is lack luster when we’re cantering around the ring. BUT if we jump it turns into a magically wonderful, forward, and straight canter. Go figure.

Also in less than a month i’m almost at the point of needing to clip the beast again! I’ll hold off as long as I can or atleast until i’m back to riding regularly. I’ve been on the brink of a nasty cold for the last two weeks and on Monday I lost my voice and have had a sore throat. So i’m attempting to not push myself too much. We’ll see how that goes.

Leave a comment